10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2011 10:13 AM by Kris S.

PE9 and .mts files

Kris S.

Background:  I am new to PE9 and have a Windows XP OS.  Video cam: Canon Vixia HFS20

I was editing video for several days when one afternoon, my album thumbnails went blank and I am now unable to view, edit, or import them in PE9.  I get a generic failure:  "This type of file is not supported, or the required codec is not installed"

Can anyone help with this?  Do I need to get a new codec?  If so, why was it working for several days without issue?  Also the video open and run in ImageMixer, but that editing software stinks so would like to stay with PE9.  I have uninstalled and reinstalled PE9 (not trial, full version), but no luck with that.

• 1. Re: PE9 and .mts files
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

First, ensure you have the latest version of Quicktime from Apple.com, per the program's requirements.

Then ensure that your project is set up for AVCHD footage. What options did you select when you started your Premiere Elements project?

Finally, how much free, defragmented space is on your C drive? Are you editing on your C drive or on a second or external drive?

• 2. Re: PE9 and .mts files
            Kris S. Level 1

I do have the latest version of Quicktime.

I did not chose an  option when I started the project (so whatever the default is).  Is  there a way I can go in and see what was picked or change it?

I have 54% free, defraged space on my C drive and I am editing on that.

• 3. Re: PE9 and .mts files

How many gigabytes of free space do you have on your hard drive?

As for your project, you'll need to start a new project with the proper specs in order for this video to work.