11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2011 10:50 AM by Grant H

Objects shift with new pages

Robin Bartsch

I have a number of 2-page masters that I am using -- inside margin at spine is 1", outside margin is 0.5".  All the pages in the document are based on a master (2-page).

So the problem is that when I insert a single new page into the document, the objects on them align to the margins rather than the page, which means that all the objects shift by 0.5".  Is there an option that I'm missing that specifies that objects align to page rather than margin?

Cheers

Windows XP

CS5

• 1. Re: Objects shift with new pages
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Can you post some screen shots, please? Use the camera icon onthe web page to embed them in a post:

CameraIcon.png

Are these objects that move present on the master page? Snapped to guides?

If you have uneven margins, why WOULDN'T you want things to move if the page changes sides? Or did I misunserstand and they are not moving when you want them to?

• 2. Re: Objects shift with new pages
            Robin Bartsch Level 1

An object is on the left side of a spread and it is aligned to the page (object is a full page, placed object) as well as that 0.5" margin on the left (outside). When I insert only one page this object now moves to the right side of the spread -- makes sense.  But the object is now moved to be aligned with the inside (1") margin on the inside of the spread.  Before is first, after is next.

before.jpgafter.jpg

• 3. Re: Objects shift with new pages

OK, that does seem pretty odd, and I can't explain it from either a Master Page or Layout Adjustment perspective, so I think there's something up with either the document or perhaps ID. Start with Remove minor corruption by exporting, then try Replace Your Preferences if you still have a problem.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Objects shift with new pages
                Grant H Level 4