15 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2011 7:21 AM by m16blondie

Need advice as to best way to learn ID

m16blondie

Hi all-- I am completely new to ID and am fantastically excited about everything I am seeing that this product can do--basically everything I need it to.  I only have the trial version of CS5 and have just received the Classroom in a Book for it because I can't seem to perform the simplist of tasks on my own.  I am used to teaching myself new programs and have been mostly successful up til now.  I am in advertising so I will be working with alot of images.  I would like advice as to the best way to learn this program effectively, and is the Classroom in a Book a viable method to learn everything I need to know from scratch?

Thank you for your time!

• 1. Re: Need advice as to best way to learn ID
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

If you do well with "workbooks," the classroom in a book is an OK place to start. I have not gone through the CS5 version thoroughly, but I used to use the earlier versions in my classes. That said, the earlier versions were not error-free in either expalantions or sample file contructions, but the errors provided some valuable "teaching moments."

Lots of beginners also find Sandee Cohen's Visual QuickStart guide very useful, along with a subscription to Lynda.com for video tutorials. The very best book, but more advanced than an introdcutory text, is Real World InDesign, in my opinion.