11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2007 6:35 AM by Newsgroup_User

Simple RPC with RemoteObject

arkcto
      Hello,

I am a newbie and I am trying a simple application to test RPC using RemoteObject. My application takes a name from a text input field and prints the welcome greeting in a text area.

The method to execute in my RemoteObject is a goofy method that takes a person's name and returns the String welcoming the person.

Here is the method.

package rpc.playerinfo;
      public class PlayerService {
      public String printThis(String name) {
      return "Welcome to " + name;
      }
      }

I've added a destination representing this remote object in the remote-config.xml file.
      <destination id="PlayerDB">
      <properties>
      <source>rpc.playerinfo.PlayerService</source>
      </properties>
      </destination>

My MXML code is given below :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute">
      <mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      import rpc.playerinfo.*;

private function fillTxt(b: String):void{
      mainTxt.text = b;
      }
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>

<mx:RemoteObject id="play" destination="PlayerDB">
      <mx:method name="printThis" concurrency="last" result="fillTxt(event.result as String)"/>
      </mx:RemoteObject>

<mx:Panel title="Get Player">
      <mx:TextArea id = "mainTxt"/> <!-- This is where the output goes-->
      <mx:TextInput id="txtNumber"/> <!-- This is where the text is input-->
      <mx:Button label="i like to print" click="play.printThis(txtNumber.text)" /> <--Call the remote object here -->
      </mx:Panel>
      </mx:Application>

When I try to run it, I get the following error, when I click the button.

[RPC Fault faultString="[MessagingError message='Unknown destination 'PlayerDB'.']" faultCode="InvokeFailed" faultDetail="Couldn't establish a connection to 'PlayerDB'"]