3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2012 7:53 AM by chirtle

Please help! Keep getting error message "an internal error occurred"

aa2011aa

Hello,

I'm trying to install Adobe Reader 10.1 on my macbook, but after (what looks like a successful download of Reader), when I try to open up a pdf I get the message "an internal error occurred." From here I am forced to click "OK" and then I just get a blank screen.

I've tried to unistall and reinstall all Adobe files several times, but always get the same error message.

Here's what I'm working with:

Mac OS X - Version 10.5.8

Intel Core 2 Duo

Safari - Version 5.0.6

I'm not super-tech savvy, I just need to download this program to be able to use an online training module for school.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Please help! Keep getting error message "an internal error occurred"
          hjalp

Hello,

I have had the same problem and ended up spending about 4 working hours resolving it, although I have a master degree in computer science.

The problem is caused by an incompatibility between Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0/7.0 and Adobe Acrobat Reader 10. It is very strange that this error was not discovered during Adobes in-house quality control. I expect such tests should have been performed prior to making new releases, in order to spare problems for users. Also, I would expect better error management in a software product of this calibre. If a missing file ends up causing a crash, one might wonder if there are also security critical flaws in the software related to e.g. parsing PDF documents.

Problem description:

After agreeing to the license Adobe Acrobat says "An internal error occurred" and crashes. No further information given.

The system log reads ([…].com.adobe.Reader[220]) Exited abnormally: Interrupt

Executing the binary directly from the terminal with -O flag gives no data on standard output. Other crash log reveals no interesting information.

Solution: