9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2011 7:39 AM by GlennM_

Rendered Video Not Playing Real Time

GlennM_ Level 1

I'm brand new to After Effects (CS5.5) and the first project for me is taking some very shaky handheld footage and trying to stabilize with Warp Stabilizer.

I've tried a few variations and when I render them to check my results (in MP4), they're not playing real time.

What am I missing in getting my rendered video to be real time?

• 1. Re: Rendered Video Not Playing Real Time
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

What do you mean? Is the video playing slowly? Is it dropping frames (stuttering)?

• 2. Re: Rendered Video Not Playing Real Time
            GlennM_ Level 1

It's playing too slowly. It doesn't seem to be dropping frames.

The source video is virtually unusable (handheld Flipcam), very shaky. This is my first foray into After Effects and thought I could use Warp Stabilizer as a quick fix but not sure which settings I should be applying and am trying through trial and error.

• 3. Re: Rendered Video Not Playing Real Time
              Todd_Kopriva Level 8

First, if you're new to After Effects, I very strongly recommend that you work your way through the basic learning materials first. After Effects is not a program that you can successfully use through trial and error. If you don't work your way through the learning materials first, you will be frustrated.

Is the composition playing at normal speed when you preview it using RAM preview in After Effects?

Tell us about the source footage, its frame rate, the footage itnerpretation settings, the frame rate of the composition, and the frame rate that you set for output. See this page (and this video tutorial) for information about frame rate.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Rendered Video Not Playing Real Time
                Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP