9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2011 11:17 AM by wildcat lynx

Adding cloud to a picture

wildcat lynx

Hi,

I am new to photo shop 9 elements and am getting on with it quite well. However I have some pictures of aircraft with a white sky back ground. I therefore would like to add cloud. I cannot seem to grasp how to do this.

Can anyone please help?

Pete

• 1. Re: Adding cloud to a picture
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You'll need to create clouds in another program -- such as Photoshop Elements.

Put the clouds on  a Photoshop layer and ensure that the background is transparent. Then save the file as a 640x480 PSD.

When you bring the PSD into your Premiere Elements project and place on a video track above your blue sky, it will create the look of clouds.

If you need to animate those clouds, it gets a bit more complicated. You'll need a program more like After Effects  -- and some pretty high level skills.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Adding cloud to a picture
            the_wine_snob Level 9

If you need to animate those clouds, it gets a bit more complicated. You'll need a program more like After Effects  -- and some pretty high level skills.

While AE would be my first choice, depending on exactly what one had, and what they wanted to do, PrE can do quite a bit on the animation end. I highly recommend that any user study your Basic Keyframing articles on Muvipix, and then apply those lessons to animating various aspects of the Effects for the "cloud" PSD(s). Where PrE might suffer would be if the "airplane" passes in front of the "clouds," or if they pass in front of the airplane. There, AE comes into its own.

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Adding cloud to a picture
              wildcat lynx Level 1

Hi Steve.

Thank you for your quick reply.