2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2011 3:25 AM by _spoboyle

How to close File Dialog browseForOpen

NidhiScreen

Hi All,

I am new to Flex. I am developing a Air Application using Flex Sdk 4.5.

I have a file dialog to select afile-

var sendFile:File = new File();

var filefilter:FileFilter = new FileFilter("*.*","*.*");

sendFile.browseForOpen("Send file",[filefilter]);

I have a  Login and Logout in option in my application so when User got signout I closes all open windows within my application other the the Login Screen but I am unable to close the BrowseForOpen file dialog as I donot have the dialog handle to close it.

So please help me out how should I close BrowseForOpen dialog from my Air App.

Thanks

Nidhi

• 1. Re: How to close File Dialog browseForOpen
          Peter Blazejewicz Level 4

Hello,

native dialogs are modal. So they are blocking user interaction (mouse/keyboard/touch) untill dialog is dismissed - by user - not via code. Tha'ts assumed that showing dialog is part of user action and part of current workflow - and they have specific task in mind. There is no easy way to close them as there is no access to them other to showing them on screen (what about moving them? or resizing? or providing information of display mode as there could be many different display modes on modern OS sometimes more suited to select image then text file) - and there is no method in file.filesystem.FileReference/file.filesystem.File for it.