20 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2011 4:40 PM by klowndbp Branched to a new discussion.

Very Slow Performance

ProCreative123

Hello.

So I just switched to PPCS5.5 from FCP7 - I'm an experienced editor looking for a few pointers in the new workspace.

So my main question is whether the sluggish response I am getting in PP is normal.

It seems way, way, slower than FCP in the response time it gives me just when traversing the timeline.

Scrubbing, clicking my CTI to a different point in the timeline and even pressing play give me a delayed (sometimes several seconds) response.

Also when bringing in DSLR footage - which is mostly what I work with, it takes forever until I can actually edit.  I get a "Conforming (filename)" message while it goes through each file.  Literally takes 10-20 minutest to do that.

I have an 8 core Mac Pro with 12 GB ram... the most beefy mac money could buy when I got it a year ago.

Running Lion.

The reason I made the switch was because of Adobe's marketing that PP can edit the H264 QT's from my Canon 5D natively.

I am creating the sequences by dragging the footage to the "create new comp" icon, so I think the settings are all auto-created.

Please someone tell me this is not normal....

Thanks

• 1. Re: Very Slow Performance
          Jim Curtis Level 3

Several things jump out, and I'm not one of the gurus on this list:

Search the forum for H.264.  You'll learn it's one of the worst codecs for editing, due to the Long-GOP structure, and what you need to work with it smoothly on a Mac (transcode).  Yes, you can edit natively, but you probably won't like it.  Delayed scrubbing IS normal.  Transcode all your footage to an intraframe codec like ProRes, and you'll have an entirely different (better) experience.