6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2011 10:06 PM by Jeff Schewe

why won't my images open as raw? they automatically open as jpeg

Andrea_GB

Hi all! new here and would appreciate any help I can get. This is all waaaaaaay over my head and very frustrating for me. I'm new to all this and kind of overwhelmed with all the info. I've been shooting in raw and use a nikon d40. I just noticed when I go in to edit my photos they are all automatically converted to jpeg. I have pse6 as well as cs5. The acr doesn't automatically pop up as I'm told it should if I shoot in raw. Also I noticed when I drag my pictures in to edit they all say .jpg??

Can anyone help me with this? I'd love to edit in acr first. I upload them to iphoto and they read "nikon raw" there, however in bridge, cs5, and pse6 they all read .jpg. I'm so confused, thanks for any help

• 1. Re: why won't my images open as raw? they automatically open as jpeg
          Noel Carboni Level 7

It sounds as though the files you have are actually JPEGs.  I know of no automatic conversion to JPEG that can occur when you're just opening files from your camera.  Are you SURE you're getting .NEF raw files from your camera?

Are you on a Mac or PC?  What OS are you using?

If PC, do you have View File Extensions enabled in Windows Explorer?

How are you importing the images from the camera?

-Noel

• 2. Re: why won't my images open as raw? they automatically open as jpeg
            Andrea_GB Level 1

I use a mac. When I upload them I use a sandisk card reader into iPhoto. In my camera my images read .nef and on iPhoto they read camera raw. But as soon as I open them in pse6, cs5, or bridge they all read .jpg

• 3. Re: why won't my images open as raw? they automatically open as jpeg
              Noel Carboni Level 7

Unfortunately I'm a PC guy; I'll have to step aside for any Mac experts who might have seen this behavior.

-Noel

• 4. Re: why won't my images open as raw? they automatically open as jpeg