3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2011 5:11 PM by the_wine_snob

Problem with imported jpegs and stop motion

christine cc

I'm pretty new to video editing and have dropped a major clanger.

I am creating a stop motion film which I hope to output in HD - I'm in the UK so it's PAL.

I have shot most of it on my Nikon camera which shoots at 2464px x 1632px which means I lose the top and bottom of the frames when converted to 1920 x 1080.

I can live with this, but for some reason I am losing a large amount of the frames around the sides as well.

So the images are being cropped too tightly.

I'm not sure if I have altered a setting accidently but should premiere crop the images on default and if not how do I get back there please?

One last issue if I may. I have shot in batches and for most of the film I want 10 photos to be displayed per second whilst one sequence needs more images -12 per second - to speed them up.

How do I set up for different speeds in the same film please?

Any help much appreciated.

• 1. Re: Problem with imported jpegs and stop motion
          lasvideo Level 4

"2464px x 1632px which means I lose the top and bottom of the frames when converted to 1920 x 1080."

Hi Christine, Im no math genious but  if your image is width (side to side)  2464 and is placed in a sequence that is 1920, you are losing 544 pixels total. So that would explain why you are losing image on the sides of your animation.

Now if you are importing individual jpegs and not a movie file. I think to scale things you might want to import everything, create a sequence that fits the format and size of your jpegs (Custom), then "Nest" the sequence you created in a standard HD size sequence and resize the nest as desired.