6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2011 6:22 PM by John Hawkinson

GREP problems

rorytyson

Hi

I am fairly new to GREP and Have been trying to iron out a few bugs from the expression that I can't quite solve.

Basically, I work at a newspaper and I have to format the Movies section. I have an expression that I have cobbled together which will find all of the movie names in the text and then bold them. Since every movie name, is directly after a channel name, and at the end of each movie name, it is followed by an open parenthesis I have been able to create the following expression

(?<=Nine|Eleven|WTV|Go!|SBS2|SBS1|Gem|WIN|GWN7|7mate|Ten|One|7Two).+?(?=\()

The problem I am having is that a two of the channel names (7mate and Eleven) both select a portion of the channel name and bold it, which is not what it is meant to do.

Picture 4.png

Picture 3.png

you can see that on the Eleven the "en" at the end is bolded, and on 7mate just the "e" is bolded. All of the other channel names this doesnt happen with, and it works just fine.

does anyone know what is causing this and how I can get around it? When I do a GREP F\C and just do an individual channel it works like it should, but when they are grouped it causes this poblem...

any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Rory

• 1. Re: GREP problems
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

I must say, you've had quite an impressive go at it! Unfortunately, this is a limitation in the GREP library Adobe used for InDesign. Lookbehind doesn't work for lookbehind strings of different lengths. This won't work:

(?<=abcd|ef)g

You have to split up the entire thing into two parts:

((?<=abcd)|(?<=ef))g

If you are using this in a GREP style, it might just be easier to use multiple GREPs.

• 2. Re: GREP problems
            rorytyson Level 1

Thanks for your answer Jongware,

I used this script which can chain together GREP searches...

http://www.kahrel.plus.com/indesign/chain_queries.html