6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2011 3:18 PM by Zoop studio

4 Hard Disk setup advice

Rikitt

I a new build and require some advice on how to manage my hard drives. My motherboard has ICH 10R Controller which support Raid 0, Raid 1. Raid10, and Raid 5. My OS and Programs are on C:\. I have 4 hardrives available. I am new to Raid, should I Raid these 4 hard drives? What would you suggest as a setup? Thanks!

• 1. Re: 4 Hard Disk setup advice
          Zoop studio Level 1

You can read the great work of Harm Millaard about disk set up:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/662972

If you give more info about your system like mobo, cpu and psu (brand & model) you will get more/better advice.

(there's a lot of knowledge around here)

Luc

• 2. Re: 4 Hard Disk setup advice
            Rikitt Level 1

Intel®-Core™ i7-960 3.2GHz Processor

Asus LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Motherboard Sabertooth X58

Windows 7 PRO 64 Bit System

Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850-Watt

12GB Memory DDR3

(2) Seagate Barracuda 7200 500 GB 7200RPM SATA 3Gb/s 16MB Cache

note: my board supports ( 6 ) 3Gb/s drives,  and ( 2 ) 6Gb/s drives.

I am using (2) 3Gb/s drive ports currently which leaves me with (4) 3Gb/s ports available

(2) considering buying Seagate  7200 1TB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s 32MB Cache to utilize the 6Gb/s ports

• 3. Re: 4 Hard Disk setup advice
              Zoop studio Level 1

You can consider a 7disk set up with a Asus P6T Deluxe/OC palm.(cheaper than sabertooth)

Very easy overclocking with the Asus Turbo V utility

1 disk (recommand Hitachi Desktar 7K3000 1.5TB for OS and programs)

4 disk in raid 10        ""              ''          ''        2 TB   for footage

2 disk SAS type high speed (10,000 rpm) on the Marvell 88SE6320 contr.in raid 0 for scratch/preview/ pagefile and output files

(or output file on a 8th disk, f.e.Esata)

Will cost you a little more but at least double your speed and handling of footage.

If you have the Sabertooth already, google: overclocking sabertooth etc.