12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2011 12:28 PM by S Hopkins

Automation in InDesign

jeni2638

Let me preface this question by saying that I am a designer that is trying to help my company automate some tasks, I am not a developer and I do not know scripting.

My situation is this; we currently use InDesign to create sell sheets for our customer's needs. Basically these sell sheets pull information from multiple documents and puts it together in one easy to read format. Right now we are entering almost everything manually and I'm convinced there has to be a better way. I've spent many hours doing research and I'm not really getting anywhere so I thought I'd pose the question, what is the best/simplest way to automate inDesign documents? I've worked with data merge with .csv files and that is good, but the limit of one source document only solves one small part of this. I've looked into XML, but I can't get the raw data into an XML format without tons of manual effort.

If anyone can just point me in a direction, I would really appreciate that!

• 2. Re: Automation in InDesign
          John Hawkinson Level 5
          I've worked with data merge with .csv files and that is good, but the limit of one source document only solves one small part of this. I've looked into XML, but I can't get the raw data into an XML format without tons of manual effort.

I'd really suggest that you look at building a CSV file from a variety of sources. For instance, taking an Excel workbook that draws from multiple sheets and then export to a single sheet to CSV.

• 3. Re: Automation in InDesign
            jeni2638 Level 1