9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2011 4:39 PM by the_wine_snob

CPU cores and memory for PrE 9

RMO2011

Vista Home Premium SP2, Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, 4GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 430
      Camera: Nikon D5100, delivering .mov-files, 1080p, 720p, using codec H264 -MPEG-4AVC
      --------------------------------
      PrE 9
      --------------------------------
      Hi,
      I am new to this forum.
      I am new to PrE 9 too, but have been working with PrE 3.02 which has served me very well.

I have been testing PrE 9 for some weeks now, making friends with it - and like it.
      When I carefully chose the presets for each video, no problems seem to occur.
      As I am a bit short of CPU-power for HD-rendering, I have chosen rendering to .AVI and editing as Type 2 DV - works ok.

Some minor irritating issues depending on differences between PrE 3.02 and PrE 9 are still a bit confusing to me, such as finding the button with wich to go to the beginning of the timeline - it's not here - and I haven't succeeded in finding it so far - I can jump to next/previous clip but not to the beginning. This just proves that I am new to PrE 9 I suppose. I will find it!

During rendering 1080p or 720p .MOV-files I can see that all 4 cores are working 97-100%, but surprisingly it's not very tough in terms of memory usage.

This brings me to my question:

Planning the configuration af my next W7/64 computer I'm wondering: Does PrE 9 benefit from more cores (than 4)? Is it worth the investment?
      SandyBridge: How important is the amount of memory on the graphics card when using a SandyBridge CPU?
      Core i5 versus i7 - does i7 represent advantages in terms of HD-videorendering with PrE 9?
      As PrE 9 does not support CUDA it seems to me that choise of raw processor-speed is important - more than exessive amounts of RAMs - but all of these memory handling "parameters" are difficult to overview - at least to me.