13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2011 8:38 AM by Jim_Simon

FCP to Premiere

Dynamicworm Level 1

Hello,

Although I have been using FCP professionally for over seven years now, I did originally use Premiere 4, 5 and 6 when I migrated from Beta SP tape to tape. The one thing that really bothered me about Premiere in those days was not necessarily that it crashed about 3 times a day but that when it crashed it corrupted my project file to the extent that I was forever having to make copies.

Now I'm not saying FCP never crashes, it does very occasionally, but when it does it has never, ever corrupted a project file - I've simply lost however much work I've done since I last saved it.

So my question is this, now that I'm being forced (in the next few years at least) to abandon FCP I'm looking at Premiere CS5.5 on the Mac as a replacement and my initial experience of it is very good. I haven't yet dared to cut a paying project on it however because I'm worried that it'll eventually crash and corrupt my project file as in the good old days.

Obviously I can save copies every minute but I was wondering if Premiere CS5.5 has overcome this major flaw (at least in my experience) of corruption when crashing ?

I accept it will occasionally crash but I want to lose only the work since I last saved or it autosaved rather than the whole project file.

Any comments appreciated.

• 1. Re: FCP to Premiere
          tclark513 Level 3

Once you switch to Premiere the only thing you will regret is not doing sooner!

In regards to corrupting project files, I have never had that and Premiere also makes multiple back up files.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: FCP to Premiere
            Dynamicworm Level 1

Thanks for that. As a matter of interest, what formats do you use, what's your typical length of project and how long do you work on a project ?

• 3. Re: FCP to Premiere
              Jim_Simon Level 8