12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2011 2:29 PM by John Hawkinson

Purchasing InDesign 4...

hexagonian

I am a graphic artist...I use InDesign 5 at work and I love it. I'd like to get InDesign for my home computer for some light design work, so I went to Amazon to compare prices on ID5. Yikes...

However, I see a version of InDesign 4 (full retail, not academic) from a site called [reference deleted by forum host]. The site is linked on Amazon. The price for ID4 at this site is $119.

Is this legit????

Personally, I like InDesign 4 over InDesign5 because it runs much faster, and it does not crash...and paying 300+ dollars extra for a program that does not give me any features that I would need for the type of personal projects that I want to do at home is a colossal waste of cash in these cash-strapped times.

I do not want to pirate software either. (I am familiar with Adobe's registration process) All I want to know is if Adobe sanctions the sale of older versions of their programs. Seems like most companies pull the older versions as soon as the new ones come out.

Any help is appreciated.

• 1. Re: Purchasing InDesign 4...
          Stix Hart Level 5

It won't be legit, Adobe don't sanction the sale of older programs.  And if it sounds too good to be true it probably is!

Do some study that will qualify you for an education version!  You'll make good use of your time, better yourself and get some cheap(er) software.

• 2. Re: Purchasing InDesign 4...
            John Hawkinson Level 5
            It won't be legit, Adobe don't sanction the sale of older programs.  And if it sounds too good to be true it probably is!

Wait, what?