14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2011 6:37 AM by Andrew Yoole

Interlaced hell!

AdobeLuvr007 Level 1

Hello Adobe users.

I am a professional motion graphic user, although strange I need to adress these issues.

I have made about 300 motion graphics job that run on national TV and I have delivered them always in progressive SD quicktimes.

Nobody complained about it and it seems fine on TV (no judder ect.) Propably because they import my SD uncompressed quicktimes into Avid/FCP and the system makes it interlaced.

Recently I had some editors that only wanted SD interlaced footage and they cannot seem to handle the progressive files.

No problem for me. I just render it out with Upperfields and deliver them. But I have seem some issues with jagged edges that are beyond the normal interlace/deinterlaced jagged edges.

The problem is very apparent when you have an vector file and you rasterize it (collapse transformation button *) in aftereffects.

When you render the animation with Upperfields and you review the footage interpreted as upper in aftereffects you really see very jagged edges.

When you turn of rasterize or just replace it with an PSD (of the same  vector) you dont have that problem. I have tested it out many times and it seems to be a problem with the continue rasterisation proces. Is this a known bug or is there some kind of explenation?

Also, it's normal to make interlaced footage progressive because if you scale/rotate/blur an interlaced file you will get strange effects and flicker.