29 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2011 10:31 AM by tm6550

Wraparound book cover: How best to do this?

tm6550

I've designed a wraparpund cover for a trade paperback using three separate composite images from Photoshop Elements 8: front, cover, back cover, and spline. Each of the three parts consists of layers for background, text, and on the front cover, the image of an airplane.

The backgrounds for all three parts have been made from a single photo of a mountainside partially obscured by clouds. I've managed to crop the images and join them side-by-side to minimize the hard line of demarcation between the spline and front and back covers, but they are still visible. And although the lines will be camouflaged pretty well when the cover is folded around the book, I'd like to make them less apparent.

Each of the three images has been added to the InDesign cover document directly from PSE8 as a PSD file. I'm still a novice at this, so I'm assuming that this means the layers are still separate (?). Is it possible at this point within InDesign to edit the demarcation lines so that they are less noticeable in the printed cover?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

• 1. Re: Wraparound book cover: How best to do this?
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Why not just use one image?

Bob

• 3. Re: Wraparound book cover: How best to do this?

Because it's a valid question.

Bob

• 4. Re: Wraparound book cover: How best to do this?
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

If I recall, you set this up as three pages?

In any case, if it's supposed to be a single image, then a single image is the way to work. That said, what exactly are you seeing in terms of lines of demarcation? Are you seeing them in Preview mode, or in layout view? How about in the exported PDF? I'm thinking it might just be the page edge lines in layout view if the images really do meet exactly at the same point.