4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2011 5:15 AM by Islanders66

27" imac (i5) with premiere pro cs 5.5

SKRIAK

I'm new to Premiere and guessing should I switch to pruduction premium cs 5.5 or what. I'm thinking of getting the 27" cheapest new imac to run with premiere. Are other editors using this combo and what are your thoughts with it.

• 1. Re: 27" imac (i5) with premiere pro cs 5.5
          Frédéric Segard Level 2

If you haven't got the new 27" iMac, then don't. Seriously!

If you're going to switch, switch for the right reasons. I can say this, because I'm a FCP user and a long time Mac user. But since I'm switching to CS5, I'd rather go with a PC, because I can get a substantially faster PC then a Mac for the same price. And like it or not, the PC version has some features that the Mac doesn't. Can you live without those features? It depends on your workflow. But me, I can't.... there is one in particular that struck a nerve.... 10-bit uncompressed 4:2:2 timeline... the PC has it... not the Mac.  Plus, do you really want to work with a glossy screen? I know I don't!

The reasons are plentiful why I switched. On top of the reasons mentioned above, the biggest is the real-time capabilities with Mercury Playback Engine. Apple, aside from the MacPro, decided to no longer include nVidia graphics cards in their computers, that would allow you to use MPE (And with the MacPro, you have to buy an expensive Quadro 4000 separately and ditch the ATI card that comes with it).

The advantage with a PC is you can upgrade easily as time goes by. It's something I found hard to live with with my Macs.

• 2. Re: 27" imac (i5) with premiere pro cs 5.5
            Islanders66 Level 1

From my research editing anything other than HDV needs i7 quad core. You also can't upgrade the iMac graphics card. I don't think it has eSata so you would be limited to FW800 for scratch drive, as the only Thunderbolt external HDD are way expensive.