12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2011 8:54 AM by ECBowen

Question for PC enthusiasts

lasvideo Level 4

With Apple on shaky ground in the Pro circles and issues with new Mac Pros abounding, I have a question. What system would you suggest to an editor not interested in being a computer builder? Ive heard dispareging remarks about Dell , HP and a like. This theoretical system would be for video production and would not be tricked out like a race car (i.e., over clocking, coolers, etc). Any suggestions (like Boxx) that I can add my raid array to (Areca) and be up and running. Remember I am an editor NOT a build from scracth computer enthusiast. Each to their own. Thanks for your input.

• 1. Re: Question for PC enthusiasts
          the_wine_snob Level 9

I would start with ADK, and talk over your needs with them.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Question for PC enthusiasts
            Jim_Simon Level 8

I second Bill's recommendation.  Scott and crew really know what they're doing.

• 3. Re: Question for PC enthusiasts
              lasvideo Level 4

Thanks Bill and Jim.

• 4. Re: Question for PC enthusiasts
                Colin Brougham Level 6

I've had great luck with the HP line of workstations; used them in a previous life back when they were Compaq EVOs (Avid DS, nonetheless!) and my own HP xw6400 is still going strong. In fact, I just put a GTS 450 in my HP this week, and now it's got CUDA-accelerated goodness.

I had one problem with my HP--a memory module gone bad. Called HP's support, and they overnighted me a new module at no cost to me. That was about 1.5 years after I purchased it. That's not bad at all. I've had this system for over four years now, and it will be receiving a new lease on a life in an SD only documentary project.

Don't lump the HP desktops and workstations in the same category; they're definitely not cut from the same cloth.

• 5. Re: Question for PC enthusiasts
                  Eric Addison User Group Manager