9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2013 10:05 AM by gkaiseril

Character counting (count down) in Acrobat

b.whitham Level 1

I have a PDF file with text fields that is going to be used by some of our writers and integrated into presentation decks across multiple programs. We have a lot of it working well and I've been able to piece some bits of code together here and there but I'm no programmer. Where I've hit a roadblock is with adding a visual character counter to the file.

The file is set up to reflect an actual printed piece where there are limitations on line counts and characters per line. The line counts we aren't as concerned with but having a counter display how many characters you've typed to a line is important. I hope this makes sense. So basically we have one area where you can have a total of 10 lines and 30 characters (including spaces) on each line for a total of 300 characters. What would be great for us is if the text field could have a counter pop up showing something stating that the writer has entered "10 out of 30" characters for the particular line they're on.

Is this a simple fix or something where I could be pointed somewhere to put a script togeteher? I've tried for a few days now and frankly this is like launching a missle into space for me. I'd greatly appreciate any help/insight you could offer and would be glad to share my expertise on any design or experience issues you may be having.

• 1. Re: Character counting (count down) in Acrobat
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Set up a document-level function like the following and call it from the text field's Keystroke event:

// Document level function
          function showCharCount() {

// Get everything that has been entered into the field
              var num = AFMergeChange(event).length;

// Set the maximum number of characters
              var max = 300;

// Set the value of the other text field to show how many character have been entered