10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2011 1:37 PM by DishwallaLuc

Need help with Data Merge

DishwallaLuc

Hello,

I'm using Indesign CS5 on Leopard. Using .csv file. When I click on "Preview" before merging the file (or after merging it), the data field placeholder disappears and no data is shown, just a blank space. Does anyone have any insight?

Thank you veru much!

• 1. Re: Need help with Data Merge
          John Hawkinson Level 5

There are some bugs when you click Preview. Does it work when you don't do that?

• 2. Re: Need help with Data Merge
            DishwallaLuc Level 1

It happens when I merge the file too. Some of the records show and some just don't. It doesn't work either way...

• 3. Re: Need help with Data Merge
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Have you looked at the dat file in a plain text editor to see if everything looks kosher?

• 4. Re: Need help with Data Merge
                DishwallaLuc Level 1

I'm new with data merge, so I'm not sure what is supposed to look Kosher and what doesn't... I read the InDesign "Help" and followed all the intructions, but I can't find a troubleshooting guide for Data Merge, that tells me what goes and what doesn't go in the file. I've been working on it all day on a trial and error basis.

• 5. Re: Need help with Data Merge

for a .csv file, every record should have the same number of commas (unless enclosed in double quotes) and there should be no odd-looking characters. Do all the records actually have data in them?

• 6. Re: Need help with Data Merge
                    DishwallaLuc Level 1

All the records do have data in them. What odd characters are we talking about? Some of the text has brackets, $, & characters. Is this a problem? Is there a list somewhere of the items NOT allowed that I could check?

Thank you all for the help!

• 7. Re: Need help with Data Merge