5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2011 11:42 AM by kellybiedny1134

Recording to laptop from Panasonic HVX through Premiere Elements 8

kellybiedny1134

I'm going to be using a Panasonic HVX200 and tethering it to my PC laptop  (It runs vista, has a 300 G hardrive and 3 Gig of RAM) via firewire.  I have Adobe Premiere Elements 8 and want to record using it so I can get HD footage (720p) rather than having to record to DV tapes for Standard Def quality. I also have a 1T external hardrive that will hold the recorded video (this is attached via USB, I can't recall the specs right now and don't have it with me, so I hope this is enough info).

I have never done this before, so I have two questions:

1) Will it work? I believe it will from what I've read (I know that Final Cut Pro on a Mac can do it, but I haven't seen anything specifically about Premiere Elements so any confirmation would be greatly appreciated).

2) Are there any specifc settings I need to use to make sure Elements is capturing the video in the best format?

If further specs are needed to answer these questions, please let me know.

Thanks,

Kelly

• 1. Re: Recording to laptop from Panasonic HVX through Premiere Elements 8
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Kelly,

Welcome to the forum.

Are you planning on doing live Capture?

If so, you will want to look into PrPro, and use a program, that ships and installs with PrPro, On-Location. That program has its own forum, and you will find a lot of answers there.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Recording to laptop from Panasonic HVX through Premiere Elements 8
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You've got a number of challenges here, Kelly -- not the least of which is that you're trying to edit video from a $6000 professional camcorder on a $75 consumer video editor. You're much more likely to have success with a professional editor, like Premiere CS5, Vegas Pro or Final Cut.