18 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2011 9:58 AM by tygr

Launch PDF from HTML and execute search

tygr

Is it possible using JavaScript in an HTML doc to launch a PDF and execute a search.query with a passed-in search parameter? TIA

• 1. Re: Launch PDF from HTML and execute search
          tygr Level 1

Follow-up:  If the answer is NO (which I expect) I guess I could create an empty "search" PDF and have it execute the search script when it is loaded.  I would need a seperate "search" PDF for each term.  Any suggestions for a better way?  I am very new to PDF scripting.

• 3. Re: Launch PDF from HTML and execute search
            George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

The forum software had a problem with that URL, but you should get the idea.

• 4. Re: Launch PDF from HTML and execute search
              tygr Level 1

Thanks for the quick response!!  I'll give it a try.

Jon Camp

Senior Computer Scientist

Applied Research Associates, Inc.

North Florida Division

Training Solutions Group

430 W 5th Street Suite 700

Panama City, FL  32401

comm: 850-914-3188 x203

fax: 850-914-3189

email: jcamp@ara.com

• 5. Re: Launch PDF from HTML and execute search
                tygr Level 1

Thanks again, but that is not going to get me what I want.  I need to execute a query like:

// Split the file path into an array
                var aPath = this.path.split("/");
                // Remove the last element, which is the file name
                aPath.pop();
                // Join the path elements back together and add the index file
                var cIdxPath = aPath.join("/") + "/some.pdx";
                search.query ("some search term", "Index", cIdxPath);

I suppose I can have a script like this execute automatically when a PDF file is opened??  TIA

• 6. Re: Launch PDF from HTML and execute search
                  tygr Level 1