31 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2006 9:35 PM by DLoe

What is the Going Rate out there?

computerkitten Level 1
      I hate to ask this question but I will anyways.

I have been asked to design a website and they wanted me to give them an estimate of costs. I am a student and have completed Intro to Dreamweaver, Intermediate Dreamweaver, Fireworks, and Photoshop. So I do have some skills. No flash yet. Are there guidelines out there for what the going rate is? I am located in Portland, OR. How do I figure this out?

I just don't know how to go about this... of course its nothing I learned in class :-).

Thanks
        • 1. Re: What is the Going Rate out there?
          CSI_Bruce
          1. How many pages?
          2. How much proof-reading will you need to do?
          3. How many hours do you anticipate it will take you?
          4. How many revisions are you going to let the customer ask for before you start charging them for the revisions? (This one bit me big time in my first job)
          5. Are you creating the graphics or is the client supplying the base files?

These are but the basic questions you will need to know answers to before giving an estimate.
          • 2. Re: What is the Going Rate out there?
            computerkitten Level 1
            Hi!

Well I was told 3 pages to start off with but that he would want more pages added later.

I don't think there will be a lot of proofreading involved, I am counting on him writing the content. Or I will ask for it.

As for hours.... that is a good question. I would say I really don't know. I need for him to provide the content and then I could make an estimate. But do know 3 pages.

He has the graphics... or the logo I shall say. That was sent to me.

Revisions..... good point...and I can understand that biting anybody that doesn't figure out how to charge for that.

So what do you think after I've told you all this?

Angie
            • 3. Re: What is the Going Rate out there?