5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2016 4:00 AM by testr3456456546

Script to "Optimize to file size" (automatically) in "Save for Web"?

auwebio Level 1

Hello, all,

I'm a novice when it comes to scripts in Photoshop, but I'm really coming to the conclusion that this is the only way to automate the actions I need to do, whithout having to do it one-by-one.

Is it possible to write a Script to automatically choose the option (and settings) to "Optimize to file size" in the "Save for Web" dialog?

Is it also possible to save the file in the document's original folder, instead of a single specific folder, using "Save for Web"?

I have a really big number of different files (some .JPEG, some .PNG, some .TIFF) and I need to generate a single "reference.jpg" in each one of those original folders. It's quite easy to use whatever method to separate all those files in some lists and later open them in Photoshop in small subgroups of files.

I only have a restriction of size (60Kb) for those "reference.jpg" files, and I would like to save all of them, in each document original folder, with the best possible quality within that size constraint.

Here's my problem:
      I can easily do that with a very simple action, but, that specific way, I have no control whatsoever over the resulting filesize of those "reference.jpg" files generated. Moreover, I also find the "save for web" command create a more "slim" file, allowing for better quality within my size constraint.

• 1. Re: Script to "Optimize to file size" (automatically) in "Save for Web"?
          c.pfaffenbichler Level 9

Is it also possible to save the file in the document's original folder, instead of a singlespecific folder, using "Save for Web"?

That’s no problem.

Is it possible to write a Script to automatically choose the option (and settings) to "Optimize to file size" in the "Save for Web"dialog?