17 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2011 7:39 AM by Amy Blankenship

Event trouble - dispatching an event from the main app?

Godico77 Level 1

I am new to Flex and recently I am trying to use custom events. Currently I have a custom component that dispatches a custom event when the user clicks a button. That event is being caught and handled in the main app file. That is working fine.

Part of this event handling consists of requesting data from a remote server. When the data is returned, I instantiate an object to store it. What I want to do is to pass this object back to the custom component via a custom event that would be dispatched from the main app. Is that possible at all?

I am dispatching the custom event but it is not being caught in the custom component, even though I added a listener there via addEventListener (and I create the listening function too).

The reason I want to use an event, and not data binding is because I want to be able to do some manipulation/formatting of the data in the object *within the custom component* BEFORE it gets displayed. I don't want to do this manipulation in the main app because it might have to be closely coupled with visual elements in the custom component, and I am trying to keep the business logic separated from the visual and the data (MVC model).

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Event trouble - dispatching an event from the main app?
          Amy Blankenship Level 4

Usually, we dispatch events from objects that do not know about the object receiving the event to other objects that do know about the dispatching even (for example, a child does not know about its parent, but a parent does know about the child, so the parent can add an event listener to the child and the child can dispatch an event without worrying if anyone is listening).