6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2011 8:10 PM by David Trent

Problems with Dialogue boxes

David Trent

I am new to premiere elements 9 having only recently purchased and installed the prgram on a Dell XPS laptop. I am having some trouble with the use of "dialogue" boxes most notably (at this early stage) with the new project dialogue box.

The problem is that the dialogue box does not seem to recognise either the track pad or external mouse (when connected) and I'm forced to rely on typing "Y" for yes, "N" for no etc. It also means that I can't use the drop down menu's (can't change the locations to save files, can change setting, etc).

I have deactivated and reinstalled the software on a several occasions and downloaded any updates to the software from the Adobe site with out any changes to the issues.

Any suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Dave

• 1. Re: Problems with Dialogue boxes
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Dave,

Welcome to the forum.

When I hear of GUI issues, the first thing that I think of is video driver.

What make/model of video card do you have?

What is the number/date of the installed video driver?

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Problems with Dialogue boxes
            David Trent Level 1

Thank you for the reply Bill

Video card info that I've been able to find just refers to it as the Intel (R) HD graphics family and it uses the NVIDIA GeForce GT540M driver.

Dave

• 3. Re: Problems with Dialogue boxes
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Dave,

I would go to Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager, and check the Display Adapters, and then their drivers. Some system use a dual-adapter system with an Intel and then an nVidia chip. This shows the panels for my nVidia, and then its driver details:

Video_Driver_Info.png

Let us know exactly what you have, and Control Panel>System>Hardware will give it to you.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: Problems with Dialogue boxes
                David Trent Level 1