5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2011 9:10 AM by kglad

Flash CS4 issue(s)

robfinlay

Hi there,

I hope I'm posting in the right place.  I'm just getting into Flash and have a couple of issues that are making my workflow really frustrating.

The first question I have is: is there a way to lock down the pivot/transformation point of a group of symbols (on multiple layers)?  If I have a character I want to move around, and I select his entire upper body (arms, head, torso etc.), I move the registration point, make adjustments, and then if I go to select that same grouping again the registration point resets to its default position.

My second question is: is there a way to copy and paste properties from multiple motion-tween keys?  As far as I can tell it has to be done one at a time, which can be tedious and time-consuming if there are a lot of layers.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Rob

• 1. Re: Flash CS4 issue(s)
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

for your first question you can try selecting all the objects you want to group, click modify/group and then do whatever.  your objects will remain grouped.  i'm not sure what you're doing with your transform point and whether that will remain unchanged after you do it.  but your objects will remain grouped so that should help.

i can't answer your 2nd question because i'm not sure what your trying to copy and where you're trying to paste

• 2. Re: Flash CS4 issue(s)
            robfinlay Level 1

Hi, thanks for your reply.

I'll look into grouping, but I think the problem with that method will be that I still need to select the individual components as well.  If I'm doing a walk cycle, for instance, I'll select the entire upper body and translate it up and down, but then will also need to select the arms to get them to swing back and forth (etc.).