3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2011 6:34 AM by treesa.c

GREP styles help. From beginning of paragraph through double space

treesa.c

Hello. I am trying to learn how to use GREP styles and I have the basic concept down, but am still struggling with anything other than the very basic codes.

I am designing restaurant menus. I have applied a GREP style to all digits to style my prices. I would now like to apply a style beginning at the start of a paragraph through the first double space...

the basic structure of what I'm styling is as follows

The Dish Title  8.95  the
      description of the food dish follows
      the price and is described here

(I could change the double spaces to an em space if that would make styling it easier in GREP. Like I said, I'm a beginner so I don't know )

• 1. Re: GREP styles help. From beginning of paragraph through double space
          Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I don't know that I'd use GREP for this, myself. There are a few ways - okay, many ways - to do "find all text up to the first double space" the easiest of which is

.+  (period plus space space)

if the spaces you're looking for are normal spacebar-whacks. THis query

.+\s\s

is more greedy; \s is the wildcard for "any whitespace" so it'll find two paragraph returns just as well as it finds two spaces.