3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2011 4:20 PM by ExactImage

Autosave and Crashes

wctank

Hello,

Let me start by saying I have been using various versions of Premiere for over ten years and I have been extremely impressed with CS5 for a variety of reasons.  In the past I had been using FCP in conjunction with Premiere and now I have pretty much no need for it, esp. with everything I have heard about FCPX. 

However CS5 still has the crashing issues I have seen since the early days.  Maybe not as often but it still crashes more than FCP ever does.  And the autosave seems to be not functioning properly.   

If I have auto-save set for every 5 min. why did i just lose the last half hour of work from a crash?  I see others have had crashing issues from importing mpgs, which I was doing, among other file formats, and playing back clips periodically, not sure what caused the crash.  But I have had this issue with autosave before and its very frustrating especially on a deadline.....  is there a cache of autosaves I'm not seeing?  Any help/solution would be appreciated, thanks.  -Wes

• 1. Re: Autosave and Crashes
          wctank Level 1

Just crashed again... 

• 2. Re: Autosave and Crashes
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

All anyone knows is you have a Mac... you need to provide a LOT more information

More information needed for someone to help http://forums.adobe.com/thread/416679
            Some is general about your computer and OS, some is specific to video editing
            Brand/Model Computer (or Brand/Model Motherboard if self-built)
            How much system memory you have installed, such as 2Gig or ???
            Operating System version, such as Win7 64bit Pro... or whatevevr
            -including your security settings, such as are YOU the Administrator
            -and have you tried to RIGHT click the program Icon and then select
            -the Run as Administrator option (for Windows, not sure about Mac)