9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2011 4:17 PM by John T Smith

Problems importing mts files from Canon HF M30 to PrE 9

minnytagg

I am not new to premiere elements, but I am new to PrE 9.  I am also new to AVCHD, having recently received a Canon HF M30 camcorder.  Now, when I import my video (as .mts files), the playback in Premiere Elements 9 is very choppy.  What am I doing wrong?  Is there something I can do with my camera or with PrE to fix the problem?  Or do I need to convert my video files to another format?

I realize this may have been asked before, so feel free to direct me to the appropriate discussion if the issue has already been addressed elsewhere.  Thanks!

• 1. Re: Problems importing mts files from Canon HF M30 to PrE 9
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

First, what Project Preset did you choose at New Project, AVCHD?

If you did, your AVCHD Clips should not have red lines above them in the Timeline. Do you have red lines? If so, if you hit Enter to Render the Timeline, how is playback?

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Problems importing mts files from Canon HF M30 to PrE 9
            minnytagg Level 1

Thanks for your quick response.  Yes, I chose the 1080i AVCHD preset.  There were no red lines above the clips in the timeline.  When I play the files using another program (e.g. Media Player) they play the same way (jerky, at times like a series of still frames).  Any other advice?

• 3. Re: Problems importing mts files from Canon HF M30 to PrE 9
              minnytagg Level 1

Interestingly, the first second or two of each clip plays relatively smoothly, then reverts to the stop-motion look.  Also, if

I pause a clip, then resume, it plays a bit smoother for another second or so, before reverting.  Is this an

issue with my computer system, perhaps?  I have 3 gb of RAM, plenty of hard drive space.  My processor is a bit older--Pentium 4 3.00 GHz.