3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2011 2:51 PM by Navarro Parker

Help Compositing for iPad Commercial

tiny12345

Hello -

I'm editing a spec web commercial for the iPad. I'm toying around with compositing. How would I go about compositing screen capture video of the iPad over the attached image (test shoot)? My current plan is to lay the screen capture over the footage from our shoot where an actor has pushed white dots on a black screen in cadence/timing we want for the screen capture.

How would we go about compositing the screen capture over our footage so the black screen and white dots disappear, but the hand stays in? I thought a color burn or something could work...but it doesn't. Any thoughts?

Thanks - obviously, I'm new to this stuff. So please be as specific as possible when laying out possible solutions.I'm working in CS4.

TinyScreen shot 2011-08-29 at 7.33.49 PM.png

• 1. Re: Help Compositing for iPad Commercial
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

You need to re-shoot. Put a full screen solid color background image up on the pad (green or blue for keying) and also add some markers (in red) in the corners for tracking. With that, replacing the screen will be easy as proverbial pie...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Help Compositing for iPad Commercial
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you don't re-shoot you'll have to roto the shot. I actuall have had better results with this kind of screen replacement using roto techniques and tracking in Mocha than with keying.

If you do reshoot you have 3 options, none of which require tracking marks to be stuck on the screen. The edge of the device is more than adequate for tracking.

The first option is to leave the screen black with the iPad turned off. The advantage here is that you'll have a reflection of the finger moving over the screen that you can coposite on with the replacement screen to make the shot more belivable.