12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2011 1:45 PM by JonMedford

Data Merge: Grouping data under a shared section title

JonMedford

I am a total newb to using data merge in indesign. I watched the "Automating a Catalog with Data Merge" video and found it very helpful. I am creating a catalog for an auto parts company so I have a csv file with a field for Make, Model, Year Range, Part Number. I use Make as a header and put the other information below it. I do not want it to repeat Make (Honda) over and over.

Rather than:

Honda

Accord         2005-2010     Part Number 4214-0100

Honda

Civic          2005-2010     Part Number 4214-0100

Honda

Odyssey     2005-2010     Part Number 4214-0100

I would like it to display:

Honda

Accord         2005-2010     Part Number 4214-0100

Civic          2005-2010     Part Number 4214-0100

Odyssey     2005-2010     Part Number 4214-0100

Can someone please give me some advice?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Data Merge: Grouping data under a shared section title
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Leave the Make field blank for all records except the first in each group. You may want to actually add another field to use for this so you don't need to delete the make info from any existing records, then you'd have one record for each make where the make is listed twice while the others have a null value and on make listing. Use the new filed instead of the old Make field and set the merge to delete blank lines.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Data Merge: Grouping data under a shared section title
            Jeffrey_Smith Most Valuable Participant

Although this can easily be accomplished within a Data Merge, this is probaly not the proper route (data merge) to take in producing a catalog.

First suggestion: Catalog Plugin

Second suggestion: if the cost of additional software is an issue, look into XML workflow

• 3. Re: Data Merge: Grouping data under a shared section title