2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2007 3:56 PM by Flex D

Best Practice Directory Structure

Flex D
      I'm new to programming and I'm creating a large application that will have a lot of pages and components. As I continue to add to the project, I find it harder and harder to easily locate the pages and components that I need to work with. To help me with this problem, I've decided to add a label to every component with the location of where it can be found. Now when I view the application and I see a component I want to work with, I know where it is located.

This is problably not the best way to handle the problem, it will be a pain to go back and remove or comment out these when I'm fininshed with the project, but it wil help now.

Short of having a better memory :>), is there any best practice guidelines I should look into and follow when I create my directory structure of files and components that will intuitively help me quickly locate a component? What do you use to help you?

Thanks for your ideas and suggestions
        • 1. Re: Best Practice Directory Structure
          peterent Level 2
          There are many ways to answer this. If you have a big project you might consider using a Flex Library Project for your components - think of it as writing a set of components you (or your company) might one day sell to others - even if you never have that intent. The idea is to make the components as reusable as possible in case you need them for the next project. Having them in a separate Flex Library project (which creates a .swc file) would make that easier.