5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2011 12:48 PM by the_wine_snob

PrE 9 no video

sirjello2

I have no video (only audio) when trying to look at clips on Premiere 9.

I can play these clips without any problems on other video players.

I just updated my video drivers to 8.881.0.0 (AMD/ATI) and windows update is 'uptodate'.  PrE is up to date as of Sept 1, 2011.

The camera I'm using is a Canon HF G10 and I am recording on MXP (highest) quality.

My computer details are as follows:

windows 7 professional 64 bit

i7 930

12 GB ram

program is on 120 GB SSD

videos are on a separate 1 TB western digital caviar black

radeon HD5870

...not sure what other info may be useful (I'm new to video).

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks.

• 1. Re: PrE 9 no video
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

When you started your Premiere Elements project, which project settings did you select?

Have you got the latest version of Quicktime from Apple.com, per the program requirements?

How did you get the video from the camcorder to the computer? Did you use Premeire Elements' Video Importer by way of the Get Media tool?

• 2. Re: PrE 9 no video
            sirjello2 Level 1

Thanks for the quick reply!

I don't think I am in a 'project'.  I am trying to play the video clips in 'organize'.

My quicktime is up to date.

I imported the recordings by using the 'organizer' and File/get photos and video/from camera or card reader...

• 3. Re: PrE 9 no video
              Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

There are components in the program that need to be activated.

First, ensure that you have the latest version of Quicktime from Apple.com, per the software're requirements. Then open a Full AVCHD project that matches your video specs, import your video into it and place your video on your timeline. This should activate the AVCHD component.