29 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2011 8:38 PM by dontasemebro

What's a decent set up for a Premiere Pro, CS5 noob?

donttasemebro

Hey there, I'm a Premiere Pro noob and I'm trying to assemble my first editing PC.  I'm completely new to all of this, so I've just been doing some research and I have come up with this list.  I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions of changes I could make, or maybe there are things that I'm missing that I should consider.  I assume one of the first things I'll hear is the the hard drives are too small - 3 x 320GB.  I'm mostly concerned with keeping the cost down.  I was hoping to set up my PC for 1500, so I'm spending that little bit more already.  I don't want to overclock and I'll be mostly editing AVCHD, so there's no need for RAID afaik.  Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated!

IWANT.PNG

• 1. Re: What's a decent set up for a Premiere Pro, CS5 noob?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

No remarks about the disks, as you expected, but about the case, the PSU and the memory.

Get a big tower for better cooling, easier installation and better cable management. Get a heftier gold label PSU, probably around 750-850 W and double your memory to 16 GB.

Read some of the suggestions that are available under the overview tab at the top of the page.

• 2. Re: What's a decent set up for a Premiere Pro, CS5 noob?
            donttasemebro Level 1

Thanks, I should have pasted a clearer image of my list.  I was thinking of getting 4 x 4GB sticks.  As far as I know, the tower I have on the list is pretty big - apparently 21.5" x 8.1" x 19.7".  As far as the PSU is concerned - is Corsair a decent brand? 

Capture1.PNGCapture2.PNG

• 3. Re: What's a decent set up for a Premiere Pro, CS5 noob?
              John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

My 3 hard drives are configured as...

1 - 320Gig Boot for Win7 64bit Pro and all program installs

2 - 320Gig data for Win7 swap file and video project files