11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2011 10:27 PM by markerline

newbie: flash audio not playing

nobood09 Level 1

I am brand new to flash and AS3, and everything else code related. I've built a simple file with text and audio. The audio is an external file, and it plays with a mouse click. Everything tests fine in flash. I also placed the file in Dreamweaver and previewed in a browser - that's working. But... I've now uploaded the file to a live site. The text shows up but it doesn't play. Where should I look for the problem?

• 1. Re: newbie: flash audio not playing
          markerline Level 4

post your AS3 code and someone will be able to inspect it for you for possible errors--server-s

ide speaking.

• 2. Re: newbie: flash audio not playing
            nobood09 Level 1

This is the code I'm using. thanks.

stage.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, fl_ClickToPlayStopSound);

var fl_SC:SoundChannel;

function fl_ClickToPlayStopSound(evt:MouseEvent):void

{

if(fl_ToPlay)

{

var s:Sound = new Sound(new URLRequest("audio/L57_passage_p1_1.mp3"));

fl_SC = s.play();

}

else

{

fl_SC.stop();

}

fl_ToPlay = !fl_ToPlay;

}

• 3. Re: newbie: flash audio not playing
              markerline Level 4

firstly I would add the event listener to the button that's activating playback.  Not to the stage unless you want any portion of the stage to activate playback.

I must assume that fl_toPlay is the button?

also, are you nesting swf's?  Or is this file your only file that is referencing the audio directly on the server.  Check to make sure that your audio is named properly on your server and that your directory structure is proper.

I can't think of anything off hand besides what I mentioned.  Are you using a local server or a server located on the internet?  If it's a server on your local network it may not work properly.  I have had this happen when trying to play FLV's over my local network.  On the internet it works fine.