2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 6, 2011 6:00 AM by chloemarty

Problems opening .fla files and getting error codes

chloemarty

Hello,

I am brand new to Flash and I am completely unsure on how to diagnose and resolve the problems I am having ... I am in an online program through the Art Institute and I am currently taking a course to learn the basics of Flash.

I am running Flash from CS4 on my MacBook Pro running OS X 10.6.8 and I am having problems opening some of the .fla files that people post. One of two things happens, either:

(1) when I try to open the .fla file I get an pop-up alert (below) and if I click OK the file doesn't open (and clicking OK is my only option, as you see);

Screen shot 2011-09-05 at 5.51.47 PM.png
      OR

(2) I go to open the .fla file and it appears to be opening but then the screen is blank and I get two error reports in the Output pane which says:
      "VerifyError: Error #1053: Illegal override of isRelatedObjectInaccessible in .RemappedMouseEvent.
      ReferenceError: Error #1065: Variable_e9a752f233536079fc4486d6ac92a1b05a633a5657d5b83ad7fac2246298b191_flash_display_S prite is not defined."
      Screen shot 2011-09-05 at 5.54.40 PM.png

I tried installing all available updates for Flash and that did not solve it. I also tried opening the same .fla files on my husbands MacBook Pro OS X 10.6.8 running CS4 and got the same problems. Is this a problem with CS4? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you!
      Best,
      Chloe

• 1. Re: Problems opening .fla files and getting error codes
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant

A. You can't open .fla files saved as CS5 version files in Flash CS4. So if the file that you are attempting to open was saved from Flash CS5, you can't open it. The file format has been completely changed from version CS4 to CS5.