20 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2011 12:44 AM by Harm Millaard

So I just learned about needing more drives....

77mrd Level 1

I thought I was well off. Turns out after time on this forum, I am a newbie again..... ah, what a feeling.

I have one hard drive. It's a 1TB and called HITACHI HDT721010SLA360 ... whatever the heck that means.  Anyway... what kind of hard drives can or should I buy? Should I get the same ones? I hear you should have the same ones all across.  If so, what sizes? I am editing a movie I made for fun and it is about 30 min long and editing is slow. It is fast to edit when i have only like 5 min of timeline footage. But now the project is up to like 20 min and everything runs slow....

So any suggestions guys? What is compatible with my PC and should be upgraded? I know I need more hard drives. I have also just purchased a second monitor so I can have one to view my video and one to edit the timeline. I hope this was a wise choice... it only seems logical and I have used it just now and it seems easier to edit without having to resize workspaces constantly.

And if I need a new computer all together, let me know... I would rather not, however. If I must, I would consider some company who specializes in video editing builds, which I've read on this forum there is one called ADK who makes these systems.

YOU ALL ROCK! This is a great community and hobby to be apart of... although for some it's their job(and I wish to mine in the future as well)

Thanks to NEWEGG for keeeping so much order history, I found out all the specs of my computer in no time! Here it the list directly from when I bought it in 2009(I have upgraded to WIN 7 now by the way) :

Brand
      iBUYPOWER
      Model
      Gamer Supreme 928i
      Type
      Gaming
      Processor
      Intel Core i7 920(2.66GHz)
      Processor Main Features
      64 bit Quad-Core Processor
      Memory
      6GB DDR3 1333
      Hard Drive
      1TB SATAII
      Optical Drive 1