8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 9, 2011 6:50 PM by David W. Goodrich

Footnotes, Numbering, and Sections from Word to InDesign CS5

Margaret McCullough Level 1

Looking for advice on importing footnotes from Word to Indesign CS5. I have a word document with multiple chapters that has been formated with endnote refrences resetting at the chapter heads (ie: Chapter 1 has notes 1, 2, 3..., Chapter 2 begins it again 1, 2, 3... and so on.) My client has kindly put the notes themselves in another document. I am not an expert in Word but everything looks okay on that end as far as I can tell.

When I import the document I am checking include Footnotes and Endnotes but instead of reseting for each chapter all of my notations are continuing (and I now have notes 1, 2, 3... and on to 2357). Is there any way I can have these refrence numbers reset properly without re-pouring the document? I tried making section markers on master pages but that didn't work.

• 1. Re: Footnotes, Numbering, and Sections from Word to InDesign CS5
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Type > Doucment Footnote Options...

Click the Restart Numbering box and the dropdown for your choices will be active, I believe they restart automatically for each story, too.

• 2. Re: Footnotes, Numbering, and Sections from Word to InDesign CS5

Thank you for the response. I've tried using Document Footnote Options and nothing happens. Is there something I'm missing while importing perhaps?

I'm really worried now because I've read comments and documents that say endnotes are not supported when importing to inDesign at all. Which means that I need to do what? Change the word document to have footnotes re-place the text and then create endnotes manually or change each chapter's endnote refrences by hand in my poured book? I'm so lost, neither of these is a good solution for a book with thousands of notes and I have already placed 1st round edits in my inDesign file which will be lost... so sad.