11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 9, 2011 3:44 AM by Peter Spier

Data Merge in both Master and Document

aren55555 Level 1

Hi there, I am an experienced programmer new to Adobe InDesign.

What I want to do is somehow get some data into an InDesign document. I have tried to use a data merge. Unfortunately this does not work since I need to use the data in both a Master Page and a Page. I get this error:

"Data merge object cannot be on both document and master pages. Please place all data merge filed on doucument pages or on master pages."

What am I supposed to do?

Is there any other way to pull external data into an InDesign document? I have looked at using Text Variables but cannot figure how to make them have an external data source.

Thanks fo the help!

• 1. Re: Data Merge in both Master and Document
          SJRiegel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Can you post some specifics about what you are trying to acomplish? What's your data source, and why does it need to go onto document and master pages? If we know what you are working with, and what end result you want, we can be of more help.

• 2. Re: Data Merge in both Master and Document
            aren55555 Level 1

My data source is a really simple CSV like:

Company Name,Project Name,Contact Name,Date

Test Comnpany Inc.,The Good App,Some Dude,"September 20, 2011"

And I used a Master page to create a footer. In this footer I nned to use the 'Company Name' data. I also need to use the 'Company Name' data in multiple points within the document itself.

It is really simple and I hope InDesign can do this.

Thanks for your quick response.

• 3. Re: Data Merge in both Master and Document

I create similar doucments quite often.

This will be a two-step process. You'll have to set up the data merge on a master page with ONLY your data-merge setup. Nothing else can be on the page or in the document; everything on the page will be duplicated for each record.