5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2013 8:42 AM by andreasf

[JS][CS4] - Conditional statements in a table?

booyajamo Level 1

Hello,

I am trying to write a script that looks at the content of the last column of a table and based on what it finds applies formatting to the first column, for every row of the table.

For example, in each row if the last column has a 6 digit number that starts with "4" I want the first column to apply one of my swatches.  If the number starts with a "3" I want it to apply a different swatch.

I tried using the regular expression object since I'm fairly comfortable with GREP syntax but I keep getting errors.  I just don't know how to use the object correctly or if this is even the right approach.

Here is the code:

if (myTable.rows.item().everyItem().cells.item(-1).contents == RegExp((4)+\d+))

{myTable.rows.item().everyItem().cells.item(0).fillColor = myDocument.swatches.item("Blue");}

I am brand new to scripting so very open to any help.

Thanks!

Lindsay

• 1. Re: [JS][CS4] - Conditional statements in a table?
          Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Lindsay,

myTable.rows.everyItem().cells.item(-1).contents;

will give you an array which you can loop through.

myTable.columns[-1].contents

gives you the same array.

See the following script:

//a table is selected:
          var _table = app.selection[0];

//The following checks will be incremented by 1 every time the loop goes through.
          //If the checks number is equal the number of cells we loop through, 
          //the first column of the table will be filled by a specified color:

//Default is 0:
          var _check3 = 0;
          var _check4 = 0;

//Our array we need to check:
          var _contentsArray = _table.columns[-1].contents;

//regEx matches a certain number followed by 5 arbitrary numbers
          //the .source-trick is by John Hawkinson; no need for extra escaping backslashes:

for(var n=0;n<_contentsArray.length;n++){