8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2011 1:09 AM by Eugene Tyson

Tracking a Line of Text

NYRo

I've been trying to tighten a line of text because the last word on the line hypenates on to the next line.  Just a little tigtening will do the trick.  However, the alt - cmd -\ does not seem to work.  When I decrease the tracking a word from the line above will move to that line.   Is there somethng I'm doing work here?  I'm new to InDesign and trying to desperately transition from Quark.

Please help?  Oh I'm working on a MAC 10.5.8 with InDesign CS5.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Tracking a Line of Text
          Jeffrey_Smith Most Valuable Participant

For this particular incident, with paragraph selected, Paragraph Panel > Hyphenation > Hypenation Settings > Turn off Hyphenate Last Word

For the style, Paragraph Style Options, left side of panel in list > Hyphenation > Turn off Hyphenate Last Word

• 2. Re: Tracking a Line of Text
            Jeffrey_Smith Most Valuable Participant

I read your post as not allowing the last word to hyphenate, which my suggestion addresses that issue. However, if you don't want a particular word to hyphenate, while leaving hyphenation on for the paragraph, select the word, then under Character Panel flyout > select No Break (at the bottom of panel)

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Tracking a Line of Text
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

The shortcut you mention LOOSENS the kerning on word spaces, by the way, rather than tightening the overall tracking, unless you've set some customized shortcuts. Substitute backspace for \ to make the word sapcing tighter.

Unlike Quark, though, ID by default uses a "paragraph Composer" that lloks at each paragraph in its entirety, not just the current line, and tries to make the best spacing decisions based on the whole thing. changing spacing on only one line could easily force ID to recompose the entire paragraph and have things move around.