2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2011 4:59 AM by luzzyzofia

Sent to this forum: workflow question

luzzyzofia

Hello,

(I posted this in the Creative Suite forum and was directed to post it in individual product forums. Hope this is the place.)

Though I have worked in Flash, Photoshop and other Adobe products for many years, I have just purchased the Creative Suite 5.5 and am a bit overwhelmed as to how and which programs to use to complete a video project. I am new to Premier and After Effects, I have been spending a great deal of time searching and viewing many of the online video tutorials, but am still a bit confused as to which program to use for parts of the whole  project.

I have already worked on the raw footage in Premier, but now need to create a nice intro. I also need to animate a genie character (the After Effects puppet tool is incredibly cool). In the intro, I want to create a starry particle effect and animate the genie. What is the ideal program to use to create the particle effect? Should I use Flash and action script for the stars, then import that into After Effects? Or can AE create that effect too?

Also, the video I am working on demonstrates the operation of a machine. The client would like me to have a smaller frame within  the video playing a close up of the hands pressing buttons and such. Would I crop this portion of the original video, give it a new name and save it, then import it back into AE and use a mask?

Thank you in advance,

Luzzy

• 1. Re: Sent to this forum: workflow question
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You're asking a lot of questions. There are a bunch of techniques required for a bunch of elements in your bunch of shots...