34 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2011 5:04 PM by bduffy323

Event Listener on an Asset

bduffy323 Level 1

I am trying to have a start up script that gives an event listener to every asset in a library that will fire whenever an asset is placed on the page. However I'm not capturing any events that are being fired. Here is the code I am using in the start up script. I am using CS 5.5.

function assetEventHandler()

{

alert("Placed Asset.");

}

var myLibs = app.libraries;

var myLib = myLibs.item("testLibrary.indl");

var myAssets = myLib.assets;

for (var i=0;i<myAssets.length;i++)

{

var myAsset = myAssets[i];

myAsset.addEventListener("afterPlace",assetEventHandler);

}

• 1. Re: Event Listener on an Asset
          Harbs. Level 6

That will not work.

You can only attach afterPlace on the document level or higher...

Harbs

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Event Listener on an Asset
            bduffy323 Level 1

Okay, I'm new to indesigns hierarchy. What event types are available to me at the level in which assets fall?

• 3. Re: Event Listener on an Asset
              Harbs. Level 6

none.

Harbs

• 4. Re: Event Listener on an Asset
                Harbs. Level 6

If you need to attach events on the object level, I suggest you check out APID http://www.rorohiko.com/wordpress/indesign-downloads/active-page-item-developer/

Harbs

1 person found this helpful
                • 5. Re: Event Listener on an Asset
                  bduffy323 Level 1

If none are accepted why would they put eventlisteners as a property on an asset object? Not sure if you know the answer to this I just find it strange as to why it would be there. Is there a different way to use the addEventListener() that would make sense for an asset that cant take any event types?

• 6. Re: Event Listener on an Asset
                    Harbs. Level 6

Probably because it was a feature that was never finished...

Harbs

• 7. Re: Event Listener on an Asset