4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2011 9:18 AM by try67

How to write a simple script to divide

hdcedd

I have created a form with an embedded chart to calculate failure rate.  The text fields are (horizonally) Block, Subject, # failed students, # total students, failure rate where subject is a text box, # failed students is a number, # total students is a number, and failure rate is a percentage.  I need to create:

# failed students / # total students

I tried using simplified field notation that reads:

Failing StudentsA1B1 / Total StudentsA1B1

I have little to no knowledge of Java Script, but that is what I'm seeing on the some "how to"/tutorial sites online.  I'm getting 0.00% in the Failure Rate box regardless of my entry.  I hope this makes sense.  Please help.

• 1. Re: How to write a simple script to divide
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can't use this option if your fields contain spaces in their names.  Also, you have to account for the cases when the divisor is zero, which  is illegal. Use this code instead as the custom calculation script:

event.value = "";

var failing = getField("Failing StudentsA1B1").value;

var total = getField("Total StudentsA1B1").value;

if (failing!="" && total!="" && Number(total)!=0)

event.value = Number(failing) / Number(total);

• 2. Re: How to write a simple script to divide
            gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Just be glad Acrobat/Reader does not go into an infninate loop like other applications did in the past.

Are you getting any error messages in the Acrobat JavaScirpt debugging console?

I get the following messages:

2:Field:Calculate
            missing ; before statement
            3:Field:Calculate