9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2011 8:25 AM by Harm Millaard

New Panasonic Cam vs EX1R + Editing in CS5.5

lupaie Level 1

Hi,

I was about to invest in a Sony EX1R. I talked to Sony at IBC2011 and there was not a too big difference between the EX1R and the NX5E. Biggest differences were 1/2" vs 1/3" lens and the codecs. I wanted to choose the EX1R because I have to film sports, also indoor without having the ability to set up lights before every shot..Talked to Adobe and XDCAM should work in CS5.5 without problems.

Just now, I received a link to this new Panasonic Camera. I am not that technical, but can you guys see what the main differences are? Would you prefer this Panasonic to the EX1R?

I also understand that P2 should be more forgiving to the editing suite, better to uncode codec??

Anyway...your input is welcome!

AG-HPX250PJ

https://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ModelDetail?displayTab=O&storeId=1120 1&catalogId=13051&itemId=558651&catGroupId=34401&surfModel=AG-HPX250PJ

• 1. Re: New Panasonic Cam vs EX1R + Editing in CS5.5
          Harm Millaard Level 7

The advantage of the 250 is its 10 bit 4:2:2 colorspace and the intraframe codec. It takes more diskspace than XDCAM EX, but is even easier on the CPU. Optically the 250 has a better zoom range and a better wideangle, but it uses 1/3" sensors, where the XDCAM uses 1/2" sensors, which means better low light and better DOF.

If you use chroma key regularly, then my preference would be the 250, otherwise it is a difficult choice. To make it even harder on you, also have a look at the Canon XF-300 or 305. Great optics and the same 4:2:2 colorspace but using MPEG2 at 50 Mbps. The biggest advantage of the Canon over both Panny and Sony is the use of cheap CF cards.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: New Panasonic Cam vs EX1R + Editing in CS5.5
            lupaie Level 1