13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2011 10:06 AM by marcjulienobjois

Timewarp Effect, Gone In CS5.5?

RIP FCP

Sorry to ask such basic questions that may have already been answered a while ago, but I'm new to PP.

I came across a tutorial on the timewarp effect. However, it was for CS4. Apparently this effect was not brought forward to CS5.

Correct?

It appears that there is a timewarp effect in After Effects. Is this the same effect as the one that used to be in Premiere?

If I get After Effects, will the After Effects (such as timewarp) be available in Premiere?

Or do I have to link to AE?

I wonder why Adobe removed this effect from Premiere. Seems like it was a decent slow motion effect, similar (but I'm sure not quite the same) as Twixtor. At least in terms of it's use of Pixel Motion to create new frames.

• 1. Re: Timewarp Effect, Gone In CS5.5?
          Colin Brougham Level 6

Gone in CS5+. If you want it back, do this thing: Adobe Feature Request/Bug Report Form

If you use Time Warp on a clip in AE, so long as you use Dynamic Link to bring that comp into Premiere Pro, you can functionally "use" Time Warp in your sequence. Count on hellacious render times; it might be better to render out of AE and import that clip into Premiere Pro.

EDIT: To use Dynamic Link, you need the Production Premium bundle. Since you said "if I get After Effects," does this imply you have Premiere Pro only? If so, you'll have to use the render/import workflow instead of Dynamic Link--there is no way to use DL with the standalone versions of Pr and AE.

PS: I like your name

• 2. Re: Timewarp Effect, Gone In CS5.5?
            Macphil11

Indeed, a funny one!

• 3. Re: Timewarp Effect, Gone In CS5.5?
              Todd_Kopriva Level 8

> I wonder why Adobe removed this effect from Premiere.